4 Responses to “Pitt unveils digitized Audubon prints”


  1. 1 Erin March 4, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    I wonder if they made image-saving difficult on purpose, especially since they’ll be selling reproductions.

  2. 2 peacay March 5, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    I was just thinking (out loud) about this at philobiblos.

    I constantly battle with zoomify. I actually love it. A lot. It is wonderful to be able to get in real close. But I am also a constant large image splicer from screencaps so the interface equally annoys the life out of me.

    Hmmm….I wonder if a firefox greasemonkey script or similar plugin could get around the screen size limitations?

    I imagine the response argument to Erin’s observation would be that they save the library and the user bandwidth by delivering it via zoomify.

  3. 3 [d]aniel March 6, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    It is a beautiful display option. To be able to resize like that on the fly is a feat of web-based technology, and a lot of people are wowed by it. (Myself included, at times.) It’s just not practical for anything other than relatively casual viewing.

    From what I’ve heard, Zoomify requires much more bandwidth and storage space, because the original image is broken down into many much smaller (but very high quality) images. (At least in this case.) The number 400 is sticking in my head, but don’t quote me on that. I will see if I can find a citation for some of this information, haha!

    I’ll look into that FireFox extension and let you know what I find. Thanks for letting me know about it!


  1. 1 Double-elephant folio of 250 floral images | Jonathan Singer « juud2wordpress - photography Trackback on April 5, 2008 at 9:39 am
Comments are currently closed.




