Good Resources Never Die

Do you ever find yourself returning to a comfortable or “old-timey” information source to answer a question? How many resources are their that have been around for decades or centuries and are still useful today?

A friend will be staying with us during the weekends this summer before he moves away to attend graduate school. I wanted to get him a copy of the key to our apartment and initially thought of simply going down the street to the Home Depot. I instead decided that I would like to use a local locksmith, because it is my duty to support the small guy during our recess…er, I mean economic slow-down.

In this age of technology-based solutions I came across a novel solution for finding local locksmiths. The phone book. Although there are web-based phone books, I have found them to be incomplete and providing inadequate search functions. Some of the services even require you to pay for an address. What better way to locate the local community of locksmithing professionals than with the husky enemy of christ-powered performers?

The phone book would not be applicable with long distance numbers, but I think it’s a great way to find local businesses which are integral to a thriving community. Do you have any examples of traditional resources that outperform sources like the world wide web? Feel free to post examples in the comments.

